Monday, October 8, 2012

If she's amazing...

Saturday, October 6, 2012

Yamas 101

Love me some yoga blog links. Needed to bookmark this one and get it off of my browser tab list. Too much other stuff going on :)
Perfect reminder and refresher for my year of LOVE.

1. Ahimsa: nonharming.

2. Satya: truthfulness.

3. Asteya: nonstealing.

4. Brahmacharya: control of desires.

5. Aparigraha: greedlessness.

Volumes have been written about the yamas—this is just a brief introduction to get you started.

So why is all this important? Because kindness and ethical behavior are necessary if you want truehappiness and peace of mind. If you treat yourself badly, you can’t be happy. If you treat others badly, your relationships suffer, but you are also bound to suffer bound to some combination of guilt and anxiety about future consequences.

The yamas help take us away from our usual self-centered mindset and start acting out of love, with consideration for the impact we have on others, and on the world. When we feel good about ourselves and what we do, we can have true peace of mind.

Read the entire post here:

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Checkpoint #4

Application - June
Background - July
Interview - September
Nomination - 10/3/12 @ 7:53 am

Never believe that a few caring people can't change the world. For, indeed, that's all who ever have.
Margaret Mead